Philosophy has been part of the heritage of  St. Mary's University throughout its history. The philosophy department offers an undergraduate major and minor program, courses in the core curriculum, and graduate courses through other departments. All St. Mary's students are required to take nine hours of philosophy. 

The philosophy department offers a variety of courses, but it emphasizes the foundations and history of philosophy, ethics, and applied philosophy. Currently, more than thirty-five students are pursuing majors or minors in philosophy. 

To learn more about the department, its programs, its faculty, or to explore what philosophy might mean to you, use the navigation bar.

Conrad Kaczkowski, S.M., Chair
Chaminade Tower #516 
431-3114 (office) -- 431-6741 (fax)
This page is maintained by Jim Sauer,  Associate Professor of Philosophy page last updated - June 15, 2000